Long-time Ernie Ball artists, American Football, the pioneering Illinois emo band, have announced their first album in 17 years. Preorder the album here:

Like their 1999 debut, the new LP is also titled American Football. It is scheduled to drop October 21 via Polyvinyl in the U.S. and Wichita in the UK and Europe. Listen to the lead single “I’ve Been So Lost For So Long” below, plus check out the album’s artwork and tracklist. They’ve also announced a series of record release shows. Find the dates at the bottom of this post.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/278986607″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Steve Holmes, Mike Kinsella, Nate Kinsella, and Steve Lamos recorded the album earlier this year at ARC Studios in Omaha and SHIRK Studios in Chicago. It was produced by the band and Jason Cupp. American Football originally reunited in 2014, after a 15-year break.


American Football Track List

01 Where Are We Now?
02 My Instincts Are the Enemy
03 Home Is Where the Haunt Is
04 Born to Lose
05 I’ve Been So Lost for So Long
06 Give Me the Gun
07 I Need a Drink (or Two or Three)
08 Desire Gets in the Way
09 Everyone Is Dressed Up

Upcoming Record Release Dates

10-29 Chicago, IL – Vic Theatre
01-28 New York, NY – Terminal 5
02-11 London, England – Shepherd’s Bush Empire
02-25 Los Angeles, CA – The Ace Hotel Theatre

Guitar Strings

American Football play Ernie Ball guitar strings. Do you? Try a set.

A version of this article originally appeared on Pitchfork.com.

Share this Post